Adoptez un mètre
Objectif Zero
Heritage Route
Top 100 Festivals
Canadian Commission for Unesco

Ce site est hébergé par

This site is hosted by Primus
Commanditaires
et partenaires
Hydro Ottawa Pattison Outdoor Advertising Canadian Heritage The People Bank Le Droit Ontario Government Media Plus Ottawa Citizen Ontario Yours to Discover Energy Ottawa Planète 97 National Capital Commission Museum of Nature TVA City of Ottawa Media Plus CTV Parks Canada
Branchez les jeunes au patrimoine mondial
Cliquez ici pour voir tous les dessins d’enfants.
J'aime le canal Rideau

Sous la direction  de Monique Martin, artiste et éducatrice, les enfants et leur familles sont invites a se joindre à deux activités ayant pour but d’explorer  le canal Rideau, son importance tout en célébrant le 100e anniversaire de Parcs Canada.

Totems environnementaux

29 juillet au 1er  août
Parc de la Confédération

Les participants de cet atelier pourront décorer avec des messages et dessins écologiques une centaine de totems. On utilisera peintures, collage et autres matériaux. La construction de ces objets d’art se feront tout au long du festival et marqueront le 100e anniversaire de Parcs Canada.

Les cadenas d’amour

29 juillet au 1er  août
Musée Bytown / Écluses d’Ottawa

Enfant et parent seront invites à décorer des silhouettes de cadenzas d’amour et de montrer à tous leur connexion au canal Rideau. Les participants pourront dessiner et peinturer les cadenas d’amour avec différents matériaux. Les cents cadenas seront installés le long des écluses d’Ottawa à proximité du musée Bytown pour marquer le 100e anniversaire de Parcs Canada.

Le projet « J’aime le canal Rideau »

29 juillet au 1er  août
Musée Bytown / Écluses d’Ottawa

L’automne passé, sous la direction de Monique Martin, artiste et éducatrice,  les étudiants de 4e année de l’École élémentaire catholique Élisabeth-Bruyère, d’Ottawa et Georges Vanier Catholic Fine Arts School de Saskatoon ont participé à la création des panobus faisant partie intégrante de la campagne publicitaire du Festival.

En tout, 650 étudiants de la 1e   à la 4e année ont exprimé leur amour du canal Rideau en créant des dessins graphiques intitulés: J’aime le canal rideau. Entreautres, 75 de ces dessins ont été sélectionné et font partie intégrante des panosbus. Certains font parties de panneaux réclames à Montréal et à Kingston.

Le Festival du canal Rideau tient à remercier les étudiants qui ont pris part à cet initiative du projet «  J’aime le canal Rideau ». Nous remercions de plus la Saskatchewan Arts Board – Arts Smarts Grant Program et Pattison Outdoor Advertising, qui sans leur contribution financière, ce projet n’aurait pas vu le jour.

Adopt-A-Metre
Aim for Zero
Top 100 Festivals
Heritage Route
Canadian Commission for Unesco

This site is hosted by

This site is hosted by Primus
Sponsors/ Partners
Hydro Ottawa Pattison Outdoor Advertising Canadian Heritage The People Bank Le Droit Ontario Government Media Plus Ottawa Citizen Ontario Yours to Discover Energy Ottawa Planète 97 National Capital Commission Museum of Nature TVA City of Ottawa Dollco CTV Parks Canada
Connecting Children with World Heritage
Click here to view all the children’s artwork.
I Love the Rideau Canal

The Rideau Canal Festival is proud to offer Connecting Children to World Heritage. This program encourages children to celebrate heritage in an environmentally friendly way. 

Under the direction of artist and art educator, Monique Martin, children and their families are invited to 2 different activities that provide an opportunity to explore the significance of the Rideau Canal while celebrating Parks Canada’s 100th Anniversary.

Environmental Poles

July 28 - August 1 from 10:00am - 6:00pm
Confederation Park

Participants will decorate 100 Environmental poles with environmental messages and artwork. Participants will be able to draw using various mediums, paint and/or collage onto the poles. The 100 environmental poles will evolve throughout the festival weekend. The 100 poles mark the 100th anniversary of Parks Canada and will be installed in Confederation Park.

Locks of Love

July 28 - August 1 from 10:00am - 6:00pm
Bytown Museum/ Ottawa Locks

Children and their parents are invited to come and decorate a silhouette of a lock (padlock) of love and show everyone what you love about the Rideau Canal.

Participants will be able to draw using various mediums, paint and/or collage onto the locks of love. The 100 “love lock” silhouettes will be installed along the edges of the Ottawa Locks adjacent to the Bytown Museum to mark the 100th anniversary of Parks Canada.

I Love the Rideau Canal Project

Last fall, under the direction of the art educator/artist Monique Martin, students from 4 schools: Lakeview Public School, Ottawa, Avalon Public School, Ottawa, École élémentaire catholique Élisabeth-Bruyère, Ottawa and Georges Vanier Catholic Fine Arts School, Saskatoon participated in the development of the Festival’s Bus Board campaign.

A total of 650 students, from grades 1 to 4 expressed their love of the Rideau Canal by creating art work with the phrase I Love The Rideau Canal. 75 artworks where selected and have been integrated to this year’s Bus Board Advertising Campaign . Some artworks were also included in the Festival’s billboard campaign in Montréal and in Kingston.

The Rideau Canal Festival would like to thank all the students that took part in the I Love the Rideau Canal Project.  We also wish to thank the Saskatchewan Arts Board – Arts Smarts grant program and Pattison Outdoor Advertising, who made this project possible with their generous contributions.